22 June 2012

UKRAINE / ENGLAND : Oops! Chief Ref Says Cleared Goal Should Have Counted.


     Chief UEFA referee Pierluigi Collina had some comforting words for Ukraine...about a missed goal...that cemented its loss to England 1-0...and elimination from EURO 2012.
     'We made a mistake. I wish we hadn't made the mistake but we did. Referees are human beings and human beings make mistakes.'
      Replays showed the ball crossed the line before UK defender John Terry cleared the goal line shot.
     England led by 1-0 at the time...but a score might have allowed Ukraine to go for a win and advance into the quarters.
     Because of the blown call...using goal line technology is again being discussed.